Our Team

We are committed to empowering our community and work as a team to embrace all others with positive and dedicated service.

b

Abel Nuñez

Executive Director
abel.nunez@carecendc.org

b

Catherine Rubio

Director of Operations
catherine.rubio@carecendc.org

b

George Taboada

Program Assistant
George.Taboada@carecendc.org

b

Simon Santodomingo

Admin Program Manager
simon.santodomingo@carecendc.org

b

Martha Grijalva

Receptionist and
Intake Specialist

martha.grijalva@carecendc.org

b

Kevin Galeas

Receptionist and Intake specialist

kevin.galeas@carecendc.org

b

Selene Lara

DC Cares Program Manager
selene.lara@carecendc.org

b

Dora Alicia Lazo

DC Cares Program Assistant
alicia.lazo@carecendc.org

b

Jonathan Nolasco

DC Cares program assistant
jonathan.nolasco@carecendc.org

b

Genevieve Augustin

Director of Legal Services
genevieve.augustin@carecendc.org

b

Paulina Molina

Immigration Paralegal
paulina.molina@carecendc.org

b

Paula Ramos

Immigration Paralegal
paula.ramos@carecendc.org

b

Bakary Sambou

Immigration Paralegal
bakary.sambou@carecendc.org

b

Edgar Grijalva

Citizenship program coordinator
edgar.grijalva@carecendc.org

b

Jawaid Stationwala

Pro Bono Volunteer Coordinator
jawaid.stationwala@carecendc.org

b

Claudia Sanchez

Immigration Paralegal
claudia.sanchez@carecendc.org

b

Jasmin Caceres

Immigration Paralegal
jasmin.caceres@carecendc.org

b

Santos Amaya

Immigration Legal Assistant
santos.amaya@carecendc.org

b

Julia Marta Orellana

Immigration Paralegal
julia.orellana@carecendc.org

b

Anabell Martinez

Housing Director
anabell.martinez@carecendc.org

b

Dora Beltran

Housing Counselor 
dora.beltran@carecendc.org

b

Kevin Vargas

Tenant & Outreach Specialist
kevin.vargas@carecendc.org

b

Frida Cuellar

Bilingual Housing Counselor 
frida.cuellar@carecendc.org

b

Rosa Rivas-Garcia

Housing Preservation Specialist
rosa.rivas@carecendc.org

b

Rafael Alfaro

Housing & Outreach Specialist
rafael.alfaro@carecendc.org

Board of Directors

Officers

Melecio Rivera, President, The World Bank
Rosemarie Salguero, Vice President
Kirsten Keating, Secretary, Freddie Mac
Gabriela Colocho, Treasurer

Members

Ana Helena Alvarez
Ana Patricia Rodriguez, University of Maryland
Alberto Zegada, PEPCO
Alicia Criado Hampshire, JP Morgan Chase
Jorge Granados, Realty Executives
Rexanah Wyse, Children’s Defense Fund
Ricardo E. Campos, District of Columbia Public Schools
Roy McAllister, United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW)

In Memoriam

Saul Solorzano (1961-2011), CARECEN President
Dr. Segundo Montes (1933-1989), The Central American University “Simeón Cañas”, El Salvador
Congressman John Joseph “Joe” Moakley (1927-2001), U.S. Representative, (D-MA)

Smiling Flag
Kids Walking
Discussing CARECEN

Improved Quality of Life
for an Empowered Latino Community

Since 2019:

369

Citizenship Students

434

Naturalized Citizens

2172

Legal Cases